Thursday, March 27, 2014

1st Muntinlupa Student Film Festival Awards

Last March 24, 2014, the Muntinlupa Student Film Festival awarding ceremony was held at the SM-Muntinlupa activity center. The said activity culminates the month-long filmmaking feats in which Muntinlupa students eagerly participated in as it is the first one to be conducted in the city.

This college competition aimed at creating documentary films with moral values that will help the City Government of Muntinlupa in promoting “Yan ang Tama! Yan ang Muntinlupa!” social change campaign. Muntinlupa Student Film Makers ingenuity, skills and talents were showcased in the documentary films that centered on the theme inspiring Muntinlupe├▒os to believe in the common good and Muntinlupa achievements that make them proud of the city.

It can be recalled Filmmaking Symposium and Seminar was earlier conducted on February 1 to prepare and orient students about filmmaking in time for the March 5 entry submission deadline that would follow. The art of developmental journalism, creative writing, and the process of film production were discussed in detail.

Film entries that were shortlisted during the March 7 pre-judging activity were consequently included in the Film Showing event held at SM Muntinlupa Cinema last March 19.

The awarding ceremony were graced by judges were composed of Atty. Alu Dorotan- Executive Director, Metro Manila Film Fest; Mr. Ian Valez- CEO, Overmind and Dr. Michael Sta. Juana. Muntinlupa Mayor Jimmy R. Fresnedi was also there for the Opening Remarks and to show support for this wonderful youth development program. DJ Chicoloco hosted the event.

Highlight of the program was the citation of the following winning entries:


Group Awards:

Music Video of the Year: Yan Ang Muntinlupa (PLMun Film Society)

1st Runner up Music Video of the Year: Pagkakaisang Tunay (Lakewoodian Productions)

Best in technical production and editing: Hibla ng Pag-asa (Lakewoodian Productions)
Best Original Song: Pagkakaisang Tunay (Lakewoodian Productions)

Individual Awards:

Best Song Artist: Ruth Rusuelo (Gets Mo Production) for “Ako Mismo”

Best Song Writer: Alary Anne Olila (PLMun Film Society) for “Yan ang Muntinlupa”

Best Director: John Erbyn Villarino (PLMun Film Society) for “Yan ang Muntinlupa”


Group Awards:

Documentary Film of the Year: Elisa (PLMun Film Society)

1st Runner Up Documentary Film

Best Cinematography: Elisa (PLMun Film Society)

Best in Technical Production and Editing: Pagkakaisang Tunay (Lakewoodian Productions)

Individual Awards:

Best Director: Benedict Cua (PLMun Film Society) for “Elisa”

Best Narrator: Raffy Rodriguez (Gets Mo Production) for “Trapiko”

Best Writer: Camille Sorra (Prisoners Production) for “Babae sa Kalsada”


Mayor Jimmy R. Fresnedi Award for Values: Yan ang Muntinlupa (PLMun Film Society)

Most Shared Trailer or Teaser: CCS Production

Most Liked Poster: Hibla ng Pag-asa (Lakewoodian Productions)

Blockbuster Award: Lakewoodian Productions

It was a grand slam for PLMun Film Society who took home 7 awards. Lakewoodian Productions followed in as a close second with 6 awards.

The exemplary films and documentaries truly emulate well-made productions that promote change from inside out. Though made by amateur youth filmmakers, most of the outcome can rival professionally-produced films with some degree of success.

All winning entries of the 1st Muntinlupa Student Film Festival (MSFF) will form part of the Community Film Showing from March to June 2014.

This successful feat was made possible through the concerted efforts of the City Government of Muntinlupa and its local department, the Youth Affairs and Development Office (YASDO).

No comments:

Post a Comment